top of page


Distillery Logo



Calum Fraser
*Master Blender & Strategic Inventory Manager &
Barry MacAffer
*Distillery Manager

Beam Suntory


Barrel Head


Barrel Head

head whisky maker(s)

Barrel Head


Barrel Head

Year Founded

Barrel Head


Laphroaig, situated on Islay's rugged shores, is a legendary distillery with a rich history dating back to 1815. Its establishment, predating the Excising Act of 1823, was influenced by Walker Frederick Campbell, Islay's progressive laird. Seeking to promote legal businesses on the island, Campbell played a pivotal role in transitioning from illicit distillation to legitimate operations. In 1815, brothers Alexander and Donald Johnston founded Laphroaig, marking the beginning of a storied legacy. Tragedy struck in 1847 when Donald, the distillery's operator, met a tragic end, falling into a vat of boiling pot ale. Despite this, Laphroaig remained under the control of D. Johnston & Co. for over a century.

The distillery's ascent to fame took off in the 20th century, thanks to the efforts of Donald's great-grandson, Ian Hunter. In 1908, Hunter switched agents, which led to the building of Malt Mill, a replica distillery at Lagavulin. This period marked Laphroaig's transition to a single malt brand. By 1924, they had increased their stills to four. Ian Hunter left a lasting legacy, bequeathing the distillery to his secretary, Bessie Williamson, upon his passing in 1954. This marked a significant shift in leadership.

Over the years, Laphroaig changed hands multiple times, from Seager Evans to Whitbread & Co. and eventually to Allied Domecq. In 2005, Jim Beam Brands acquired the distillery, later forming Beam Inc., which was eventually acquired by Suntory Holdings in 2014.

Laphroaig is renowned for its unique flavor profile, influenced by floor maltings, an odd number of stills, and its distinct use of ex-Bourbon barrels for maturation. Its signature creosote-like phenolic character sets it apart, with a tarry iodine note that remains a hallmark of the spirit.

Notably, Laphroaig received the Royal Warrant from Prince Charles in 1994, cementing its reputation as a whisky fit for royalty.

-Written (Mostly) by Robots-

Distillery Bottling

  • 1989/30 Year |The Ian Hunter Story - Book 2| Spanish Oak Oloroso – 48.2% Harold H.

  • 30 Year “Circa 1999-2008” - 43% Harold H.

  • Cairdeas |2022| Warehouse 1 - 52.2% Harold H.

  • L 1.0 |Elements| - 58.6% Harold H.

Thompson Bros.

  • "Williamson" 2010/12 Year - Refill Sherry Butt 50% Harold H.

The Whisky Jury

  • "Bessie" 2010/11 Year |35th Release| Refill Sherry Butt #138 - 56.5% Harold H.

  • "Williamson" 2010/12 Year |56th Release| 1st Fill Oloroso #06017 - 52.3% Harold H.

bottom of page